A profile is considered used only when you get analytics (from Compare Groups, Analyze Profiles, and Get Reports) for that particular profile. Therefore, adding a profile to a group means the profile is still unused. 

Find out which profiles have been used by whom under Settings > Plan and Usage. 

Did this answer your question?